The four different sides lead to understanding

How did intuitibrix come about?

Throughout my many years as a teacher, I have always looked for material that stimulates children to think and helps them understand, not just memorize, what is being taught. The market is huge and there is useful, but also completely pointless or even harmful material. Many materials require adult help. But children want to discover for themselves, and teachers, kindergarten teachers or parents don't always have the time.

The challenges of recent years, i.e. homeschooling, teacher shortages, class cancellations, children with insufficient language skills, etc. make it difficult for parents and professionals to support and challenge children sufficiently. It therefore needs a material that can be used easily and without many explanations. It should also motivate children and guarantee their learning success.

I asked children what they like to do most. In addition to gaming, painting and playing football, the answer was often: BUILDING. What luck! This motivated me to develop building blocks with numbers, grooves and dots that constantly remind the children of the number and quantity of each building block. So you can see, for example, that the 6 is only a reversed 9 as a number. They aren't the same size. I managed to integrate practically all mathematical aspects that are important in the beginning lessons into intuitibrix. The more I deal with it and ask people around me, the more we discover how much mathematics is still in the material. So it doesn't get boring that quickly.

What does the name intuitibrix mean?

intuitive comes from intuitive and brix from the English word brick. So it means intuitive learning with building blocks. Mathematical insights are provoked by dealing with the building blocks. There is no right and no wrong. Through building, number and quantity relationships are discovered, basic geometric experiences are made and creativity is stimulated. The children benefit the most when their urge to discover is given free rein. Adults are welcome to admire what the child has built or simply join in.

Nevertheless, you can present a lot of learning content from the curricula of primary, elementary and elementary schools with the building blocks.

Number of building blocks

intuitibrix consists of 1 ten, 1 nine, 1 eight, 1 seven, 1 six, 2 fives, 3 fours, 4 threes, 7 twos and 12 ones.

Blocks 6 to 10 only exist once each. So if I want to have another ten, for example, I HAVE to put it together from smaller building blocks.

Each building block is available so often that you can build at least the height of the tenth with nothing but the same.

10 + 9 + 8 +7 + 6 + 2x5 + 3x4 + 4x3 + 7x2 + 12x1 = 100

If you had nothing but individual building blocks, there would be exactly 100. A row corresponds to 10 building blocks. 2 rows are 20, 3 rows are 30, etc. All numbers up to 100 can be practiced in this way. The payment cards, which are available as a free download in the shop, are a good help.

What can you learn with intuitibrix?

To count
In order to know how high each building block is, you can count the fields on the sides with the indentations. Sometimes it happens that children count the lines and not the squares. In this case, you can rebuild the corresponding building block with ones, count them and then compare them. It is even easier if the child counts the points.


Counting
Children can recite numbers from 1 to 10 very early on. But do you know what eg 4 means? Or can you name the numbers individually? As an adult you know that from foreign languages. Many people can say the sequence of numbers in another language, but do not know the individual numbers.

If a child wants to learn numbers, you can place the building blocks with the number side down or stand them up and ask for individual numbers. Eg "Show me the 7!" It's harder when you point to a number and ask, "What's the name of that number?" If the child can already count, it can turn the building block over itself and then see what the corresponding number looks like as a number.


Quantity registration
Recognizing number relationships is of elementary importance for later calculations. Which number is larger, smaller, the same size, larger by 2, etc. It is important that the child recognizes the number at a glance and does not have to count the squares every time. Since you can normally only record amounts up to slightly 5 simultaneously, the building blocks 6 to 10 have a wider line at the level of the 5.


Add (+)

The material is based on the same quantity = same height principle. This does not mean, however, that addition can only be understood if the towers are of the same height. You can also see that 4 +3 is less than 8, for example. This is a type of task that often causes major problems in school. (4+3 < 8) So if a child puts the 8 next to the tower made up of 4 and 3, you might ask what it notices. To get the child thinking, you could ask: what if...

  • you take a 5 instead of the 4

  • you take a 5 instead of the 3

  • you take a 7 instead of the 8, etc.


Subtract (-)
Subtract means to take away. But how can I take something away from a solid building block? A question that is easy to discuss with the child. Lots of kids have good ideas. If not, one possibility would be to put the number you want to remove flush on top of the original number. The result can be read from the empty fields.


Multiply (x)
When multiplying, the same quantity is taken several times, for example: 4 + 4 + 4. What can you discover? For example, you can find out how high three fours are. They are as high as a ten and a deuce, or as high as two sixes, or as high as four threes, or as high as twelve ones.

The basic set is sufficient for initial experience. For the complete multiplication table you need each building block at least 10 times.


To divide (:)
When dividing, there are two ways that look the same on paper. E.g. 12 : 3 =

  • I place the 12 (tens and twos) and try out how often I need the threes so that the towers are the same height.

  • I lay the 12 with ones and divide them among 3 people. Everyone always gets 1 until they can't anymore. How many blocks did each person get?

 

In both cases you can choose any number. What do you notice if I want to calculate 11 : 3, for example?

  • No matter how many threesomes I take, it will never be the same.

  • If I divide 11 ones among three people, there are 2 ones left.

In order to understand division, it is very important that one from the start too takes bills that have a remainder.


Lay or continue pattern

Pattern sequences are elements that are repeated over and over again.

Examples:

  • 2 from the front, 2 from the back, 2 from the front...

  • Number sequences 1, 3, 2, 1, 3, …

  • Number sequences 4,3,2,1,4,3, ...

  • a 1 flat, a 1 set up, a 1 flat, …

More ideas usually come naturally during construction.


Symmetry
Many children build symmetrical or mirror-inverted figures by themselves. You could stimulate them if you put a larger building block in the middle and the child places the same building block on the left and right of it.


Cube buildings
Three-dimensional building is an important basic experience. Children who have never built find it difficult to read two-dimensional plans later on. Many children just like to start building. If a child has no idea, you could, for example, build a building and have the child continue or copy it. A difficult continuation would be to sign off the buildings or make plans. A good preliminary exercise is the game “City of Towerbrix”.


More options
The material is designed to make the four basic arithmetic operations understandable to children. The older the children get, the more additional possibilities open up, eg area or volume calculations, perimeters, fractions, etc. And if you just want to be creative, you can perhaps build a castle for the princess or a parking garage for toy cars.

Die vier verschiedenen Seiten führen zum Verstehen

Wie entstand intuitibrix?

In den vielen Jahren meiner Laufbahn als Lehrerin habe ich immer nach Material gesucht, das Kinder zum Denken anregt und das ihnen hilft, Lerninhalte zu verstehen und nicht nur auswendig zu lernen. Der Markt ist riesig und es gibt sinnvolles, aber auch völlig sinnloses oder sogar schädliches Material. Bei vielen Materialien braucht es die Hilfe von Erwachsenen. Kinder wollen aber selber entdecken, ausserdem haben Lehrer/innen, Kindergärtner/innen oder Eltern nicht immer Zeit.

Die Herausforderungen der letzten Jahre, also Homeschooling, Lehrermangel, Unterrichtsausfälle, Kinder mit mangelnden Sprachkenntnissen usw. machen es Eltern und Fachleuten schwer, Kinder genügend zu fördern und zu fordern. Es braucht also ein Material, das einfach und ohne viele Erklärungen zu handhaben ist. Ausserdem soll es Kinder motivieren und ihren Lernerfolg garantieren.

Ich habe Kinder gefragt, womit sie sich am liebsten beschäftigen. Neben Gamen, Malen und Fussball spielen kam ganz oft die Antwort: BAUEN. So ein Glück! Dies motivierte mich, Bausteine mit Zahlen, Rillen und Punkten zu entwickeln, die den Kindern ständig die Zahl und die Menge des jeweiligen Bausteins vor Augen halten. So sieht man z.B., dass die 6 nur als Ziffer eine umgedrehte 9 ist. Sie sind nämlich nicht gleich gross. Es ist mir gelungen, praktisch alle mathematischen Aspekte, die im Anfangsunterricht wichtig sind, in intuitibrix zu integrieren. Je mehr ich mich damit beschäftige und Menschen in meinem Umfeld befrage, desto mehr entdecken wir, wie viel Mathematik noch in dem Material steckt. Es wird also nicht so schnell langweilig.

Was bedeutet der Name intuitibrix?

intuiti kommt von intuitiv und brix vom englischen Wort brick. Es bedeutet also intuitives Lernen mit Bausteinen. Durch die Beschäftigung mit den Bausteinen werden mathematische Erkenntnisse provoziert. Es gibt kein Richtig und kein Falsch. Durch das Bauen werden Zahl- und Mengenbeziehungen entdeckt, geometrische Grunderfahrungen gemacht und die Kreativität angeregt. Am meisten profitieren die Kinder, wenn man ihrem Entdeckungsdrang freien Lauf lässt. Die Erwachsenen dürfen gerne bewundern, was das Kind gebaut hat oder bauen einfach mit.

Trotzdem kann man viele Lerninhalte aus den Lehrplänen der Primar- Grund- und Volksschulen mit den Bausteinen darstellen.

Anzahl der Bausteine

intuitibrix besteht aus 1 Zehner, 1 Neuner, 1 Achter, 1 Siebener, 1 Sechser, 2 Fünfer, 3 Vierern, 4 Dreiern, 7 Zweiern und 12 Einern.

Die Bausteine 6 bis 10 sind jeweils nur einmal vorhanden. Wenn ich also einen weiteren z.B. Zehner haben will, MUSS ich ihn aus kleineren Bausteinen zusammensetzen.

Jeder Baustein ist so oft vorhanden, dass man mit lauter gleichen mindestens die Höhe des Zehners bauen kann.

10 + 9 + 8 +7 + 6 + 2 x 5 + 3 x 4 + 4 x 3 + 7 x 2 + 12 x 1 = 100

Wenn man lauter einzelne Bausteine hätte, wären es genau 100. Eine Reihe entspricht jeweils 10 Bausteinen. Bei 2 Reihen sind 20, 3 Reihen, 30 usw. So können alle Zahlen bis 100 geübt werden. Eine gute Hilfe sind dabei die Zahlkärtchen, die im Shop als Gratis-Download erhältlich sind.

Was kann man mit intuitibrix lernen?

Zählen
Um zu wissen, wie hoch der jeweilige Baustein ist, kann man an den Seiten mit den Einkerbungen die Felder zählen. Manchmal kommt es vor, dass Kinder die Striche und nicht die Felder zählen. In diesem Fall kann man den entsprechenden Baustein mit Einern nachbauen, diese zählen und dann vergleichen. Noch einfacher ist es, wenn das Kind die Punkte zählt.


Zahlen
Sehr früh können Kinder die Zahlenreihe von 1 bis 10 aufsagen. Aber wissen sie, was z.B. 4 bedeutet? Oder können sie die Zahlen auch einzeln benennen? Als Erwachsener kennt man das von Fremdsprachen. Viele Menschen können in einer anderen Sprache die Zahlenreihe aufsagen, wissen aber die einzelnen Zahlen nicht.

Wenn ein Kind die Zahlen lernen möchte, kann man die Bausteine mit der Zahlenseite hinlegen oder hinstellen und nach einzelnen Zahlen fragen. Z.B. “Zeige mir die 7!” Schwieriger ist es, wenn man auf eine Zahl deutet und fragt: “Wie heisst diese Zahl?” Wenn das Kind schon zählen kann, kann es selber den Baustein umdrehen und sieht dann, wie die entsprechende Anzahl als Ziffer aussieht.


Mengenerfassung
Für das spätere Rechnen ist das Erkennen von Zahlbeziehungen elementar wichtig. Welche Zahl ist grösser, kleiner, gleich gross, um 2 grösser usw. Dabei ist wichtig, dass das Kind die Menge auf einen Blick erkennt und nicht jedes Mal die Felder zählen muss. Da man normalerweise nur Mengen bis leicht 5 simultan erfassen kann, haben die Bausteine 6 bis 10 eine breitere Linie in Höhe der 5.


Addieren (+)

Das Material beruht auf dem Prinzip gleiche Menge = gleiche Höhe. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass nur bei gleich hohen Türmen die Addition verstanden werden kann. Ebenso kann man feststellen, dass z.B. 4 +3 kleiner als 8 ist. Das ist ein Aufgabentyp, der in der Schule oft grosse Probleme bereitet. (4+3 < 8) Legt also ein Kind neben den Turm aus 4 und 3 die 8, könnte man fragen, was es dabei feststellt. Um das Kind zum Denken anzuregen könnte man fragen: Was wäre wenn…

  • du statt der 4 eine 5 nimmst

  • du statt der 3 eine 5 nimmst

  • du statt der 8 eine 7 nimmst, usw.


Subtrahieren (-)
Subtrahieren bedeutet wegnehmen. Wie kann ich aber von einem festen Baustein etwas wegnehmen? Eine Frage, die man gut mit dem Kind zusammen diskutieren kann. Viele Kinder haben da gute Ideen. Wenn nicht, wäre es eine Möglichkeit, dass man die Zahl, die man wegnehmen möchte auf die ursprüngliche Zahl bündig drauflegt. Das Ergebnis kann man an den freigebliebenen Feldern ablesen.


Multiplizieren (x)
Beim Multiplizieren wird die gleiche Menge mehrmals genommen, also z.B.: 4 + 4 + 4. Was kann man alles entdecken? Man kann z.B. herausfinden, wie hoch drei Vierer sind. Sie sind so hoch wie ein Zehner und ein Zweier, oder so hoch wie zwei Sechser, oder so hoch wie vier Dreier, oder so hoch wie zwölf Einer.

Für erste Erfahrungen genügt das Basisset. Für das vollständige Einmaleins benötigt man jeden Baustein mindestens 10 mal.


Dividieren (:)
Beim Dividieren gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten, die auf dem Papier gleich aussehen. Z.B. 12 : 3 =

  • Ich lege die 12 (Zehner und Zweier) und probiere aus, wie oft ich die Drei brauche, damit die Türme gleich hoch sind.

  • Ich lege die 12 mit Einern und verteile sie auf 3 Personen. Jeder bekommt immer 1, bis es nicht mehr geht. Wie viele Klötze hat jede Person bekommen?

 

Bei beiden Möglichkeiten kann man beliebige Zahlen nehmen. Was stellt man fest, wenn ich z.B. 11 : 3 rechnen will?

  • Egal, wie viele Dreier ich nehme, es wird nie gleich hoch werden.

  • Wenn ich 11 Einer auf drei Personen verteile, bleiben 2 Einer übrig.

Für das Verstehen der Division ist es sehr wichtig, dass man von Anfang an auch Rechnungen nimmt, die einen Rest haben.


Muster legen oder fortsetzen

Musterfolgen sind Elemente, die sich immer wiederholen.

Beispiele:

  • 2 von vorne, 2 von hinten, 2 von vorne …

  • Zahlenfolgen 1, 3, 2, 1, 3, …

  • Zahlenfolgen 4,3,2,1,4,3, …

  • eine 1 flach, eine 1 aufgestellt, eine 1 flach, …

Weitere Ideen kommen in der Regel beim Bauen wie von selbst.


Symmetrie
Symmetrische oder spiegelverkehrte Figuren bauen viele Kinder von selbst. Anregen könnte man sie, wenn man einen grösseren Baustein in die Mitte legt und das Kind legt links und rechts davon jeweils den gleichen Baustein.


Würfelbauten
Dreidimensionales Bauen ist eine wichtige Grunderfahrung. Kinder, die nie gebaut haben, können später nur schwer zweidimensionale Pläne lesen. Viele Kinder bauen einfach gerne los. Sollte ein Kind einmal keine Idee haben, könnte man z.B. ein Gebäude bauen und das Kind fortsetzen oder nachbauen lassen. Eine schwierige Fortführung wäre, zu die Gebäude abzuzeichnen oder Pläne zu erstellen. Eine gute Vorübung dazu ist das Spiel “City of Towerbrix”.


Weitere Möglichkeiten
Konzipiert ist das Material, um Kindern die vier Grundrechenarten verständlich zu machen. Je älter die Kinder werden, desto mehr weitere Möglichkeiten bieten sich, z.B. Flächen- oder Volumenberechnungen, Umfang, Bruchrechnen etc. Und wer einfach nur kreativ sein will, kann vielleicht eine Burg für die Prinzessin bauen oder ein Parkhaus für Spielzeugautos.